Doctors of BC 2022 Committee Recognition Awards

Dr David Richardson
Dr David Richardson

Every year, Doctors of BC acknowledges the outstanding contributions of physicians, residents, and medical students around the province through the Doctors of BC Awards.

Committee Recognition Awards are given to members for their long service to Doctors of BC. Recipients will have served a minimum of 3 years on a single committee and no longer be active on any other Doctors of BC committees/governing bodies or actively applying for any Doctors of BC committee or governing body position. Among the recipients for 2022 was Dr David Richardson, who received the award for serving as Editor of the BC Medical Journal for 14 years (August 2008 to May 2022). To read Dr Richardson’s BCMJ editorials from his tenure as editor, visit

Award recipients were recognized at the annual awards event held on 28 January 2023 at the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Hotel.

To download a PDF version of the awards booklet listing all 2022 recipients, click on the image below.


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

. Doctors of BC 2022 Committee Recognition Awards. BCMJ, Vol. 65, No. 2, March, 2023, Page(s) - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply