Doctors of BC 2022 Awards

Each year, Doctors of BC congratulates the many contributions of physicians, residents, and medical students around British Columbia through the Doctors of BC Awards. Three awards are also given to members of the public, either individually are as part of an organization, who are working to improve the health and safety of British Columbians. 

The 2022 recipients are:

Dr Don Rix Award for Physician Leadership: Dr Faisal Khosa

Dr David M Bachop Gold Medal for Distinguished Medical Service: Dr Shannon McDonald
Dr David M Bachop Silver Medal: Dr Alysson Hamilton

Doctors of BC Silver Medal of Service: 
Dr Ken Burns
Dr Hyman Fox
Dr Ian Gillespie

Excellence in Health Promotion Awards: 
Individual—Ms Camille Currie
BC-Based Non-Profit—The Colour Project
BC-Based Organization—Child and Youth Mental Health Community of Practice

Changemaker Awards:
Student Changemaker: Mr Ishmam Bhuiyan
Resident Changemaker:  Dr Kimberley Chang

BCMJ J.H. MacDermot Prize for Excellence in Medical Journalism:
Independent: Mr Alessandro Cau
Mentored: Ms Raheesa Jina  

Doctors of BC Presidential Scholars Award in Medicine
Ms Emily Lam

CMA Honourary Membership
Dr Jeff Beckman
Dr Nasir Jetha
Dr Bakul Dalal
Dr Edward Kroll   

Award winners were recognized at the annual awards celebration on 28 January 2023 held at the Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre Hotel. For more information about all 2022 award recipients, visit

To download a PDF version of the awards booklet listing all 2022 recipients, click on the image below.

If you know an individual or group whose work is deserving of an award, consider nominating them for the 2023 Doctors of BC Awards. Learn more and access the nomination forms and criteria on the Doctors of BC awards page.


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

. Doctors of BC 2022 Awards. BCMJ, Vol. 65, No. 2, March, 2023, Page(s) - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply