Vancouver Medical Staff Hall of Honour 2019 inductees

The second-annual induction ceremony of the Vancouver Medical Staff Hall of Honour was held on 31 January 2019 at Vancouver General Hospital. The ceremony was well attended by the inductees’ families, friends, and colleagues. The Honourable Janet Austin, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia, provided the opening remarks. The inductees are all pioneers in their specialties who achieved national and international recognition for their contributions to clinical and academic medicine/surgery. As reflected by their induction into the Hall of Honour, the inductees greatly enhanced the profile of Vancouver General Hospital/UBC Hospital as well as the UBC Faculty of Medicine.

The 2019 inductees are:

  • Dr B. Lynn Beattie, professor emeritus of medicine and founding head, Division of Geriatrics
  • Dr H. Joachim Burhenne (1925–1996), former professor and chair, Department of Radiology, UBC, and past director, Department of Radiology, VGH
  • Dr Stephen M. Drance, OC, past head, UBC and VGH Departments of Opthalmology
  • Dr H. Rocke Robertson, CC, (1912–1998), inaugural chair, Department of Surgery, UBC
  • Dr Juhn A. Wada, OC, professor emeritus, Department of Psychiatry and Neurosciences, UBC

The Hall of Honour Committee also sincerely thanks Drs Maria Chung and Stephen Chung, Drs Allison Harris and Silvia Chang, Dr Brenda Kosaka, and Dr Frederick Mikelberg for composing the inductees’ biographies and participating in the induction ceremony. The committee also acknowledges the generous ongoing support of the Vancouver Medical, Dental, and Allied Staff Association, Vancouver Coastal Health.

—Eric M. Yoshida, OBC, MD, FRCPC
Hall of Honour Committee Chair
—Marshall Dahl, MD, PhD, FRCP
Past President VMDAS
—Stephen Nantel, MD, FRCP
Hall of Honour Committee Member
—Frances Perry, BSc
Administrative Assistant, VMDAS
—Jennifer Laxamana
Administrative Assistant, VMDAS
—Simon W. Rabkin, MD, FRCP
President VMDAS

Eric M. Yoshida, OBC, MD, MHSc, FRCPC, Marshall Dahl, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Stephen Nantel, MD, FRCPC, Frances Perry, BSc, Jennifer Laxamana, Simon W. Rabkin, MD, FRCPC, FACC. Vancouver Medical Staff Hall of Honour 2019 inductees. BCMJ, Vol. 61, No. 4, May, 2019, Page(s) 184 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply