Three BC doctors awarded Order of BC

Issue: BCMJ, vol. 58, No. 7, September 2016, Page 402 News

Three BC physicians were among the group of 16 civic leaders appointed to the Order of British Columbia, the province’s highest honor. The Order of BC recognizes persons who have served with distinction and excelled in any field of endeavor to benefit the people of the province or elsewhere.

Dr Allen Eaves

Dr Eaves is a leukemia specialist and founder-owner of Vancouver’s STEMCELL Technologies Inc., the largest biotechnology company in Canada. Dr Eaves also founded the Terry Fox Laboratory and was its director for 25 years, and served on the board and as chair of Mitacs—a nonprofit, national research organization.

Dr Peter K.K. Wong

Dr Wong is a community leader, businessman, philanthropist, and physician who serves a large number of patients with multicultural backgrounds in Vancouver. In addition to his medical practice, Dr Wong has been an advocate for strong trade relations with China, participating in a number of trade missions with all levels of government and serving as a special advisor to the Musqueam Nation for Asia-Pacific affairs.

Dr Eric M. Yoshida

Dr Yoshida is recognized for his clinical care and research excellence in liver disease. Formerly medical director of the BC Liver Transplant Program, Dr Yoshida’s work enabled patients with hepatitis B to have successful liver transplants, and he established the first program in Canada to provide HIV patients with the right to be allowed liver transplantation. Dr Yoshida built a centre for excellence in liver disease that provides treatment, research, education, and collaboration with the medical community and the citizens of British Columbia, and created a clinical research centre in hepatitis and liver disease.

Congratulations, Drs Yoshida, Eaves and Wong.

. Three BC doctors awarded Order of BC. BCMJ, Vol. 58, No. 7, September, 2016, Page(s) 402 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply