Davidson and Hoag take MacDermot Prize

Issue: BCMJ, vol. 51, No. 7, September 2009, Page 292 News

Mr Ross A. Davidson and Mr Nathan A. Hoag are sharing the J.H. MacDermot Prize for Excellence in Medical Journalism (2008) for their coauthored paper “Prostate cancer screening practices and attitudes among primary care physicians in Victoria, British Columbia” (BCMJ 2008; 50[8]:456-460). 

Dr Peter J. Pommerville, clinical associate professor in the Department of Urologic Sciences at the University of British Columbia and staff urologist at Royal Jubilee Hospital and Victoria General Hospital, was the supervising author.

The MacDermot Prize, which carries a cash award of $1000, is given annually to the best article on any medicine-related topic submitted to the BC Medical Journal by a medical student in British Columbia. 

The prize honors Dr John Henry MacDermot (1883 – 1969), who became the editor of the Vancouver Medical Bulletin at its formation in 1924, remaining at the helm until 1959, when it became the BC Medical Journal. He was editor of the BCMJ until he retired in 1967.

. Davidson and Hoag take MacDermot Prize. BCMJ, Vol. 51, No. 7, September, 2009, Page(s) 292 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit www.icmje.org

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply