Call for award nominations

Issue: BCMJ, vol. 57 , No. 9 , November 2015 , Pages 400 News

Nominations of Doctors of BC members in good standing are being accepted for the following 2016 awards.

Doctors of BC Silver Medal of Service Award
This is awarded to physicians or nonphysicians who have made outstanding contributions to medicine, improved the welfare of British Columbians, or both. Physician nominees must have 25 years of membership in good standing with Doctors of BC, the CMA, and the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC. Nonmedical candidates may hold Canadian or foreign citizenship. To be eligible for the award, nominees must meet at least one of the following criteria:
•    Long and distinguished service to Doctors of BC
•    Outstanding contributions to medicine or medical/political involvement in British Columbia or Canada
•    Outstanding contributions to medicine or the welfare of the people of British Columbia or Canada

Dr Don Rix Award for Physician Leadership
Established in memory of the late Dr Donald Rix for his many achievements and exemplary physician leadership exhibited throughout his life and career, this award recognizes lifetime achievement so outstanding as to serve as an inspiration and a challenge to the medical profession in British Columbia. Nominees may have achieved distinction in one or more of the following ways:
•    Supported lifelong learning opportunities
•    Promoted excellence in medical education
•    Built consensus among physicians and groups of physicians
•    Provided leadership for new initiatives both in business and clinical practice
•    Provided leadership and service to the general community or province either by direct support or through philanthropy
•    Provided service to the medical profession through participation in Doctors of BC
•    Provided leadership to the broader medical community
•    Participated in legislative and other political activities in support of health care

CMA Honorary Membership Award
This award goes to BC doctors who, at the age of 65, have been active members of the association for at least 10 years. 

Recipients must also have been nominated by their provincial/territorial medical associations and have had their nominations approved unanimously by the Board of Directors of the CMA. Nominees are held in high regard by their colleagues; they are humanitarians who have put into practice the aims and ideals of the profession; they exemplify the words of the CMA Coat of Arms: Integritate et misericordia (integrity and compassion).

The closing date for nominations is 30 November 2015 at 11:59 p.m.

Canadian Medical Association (CMA) Awards
The CMA is accepting nominations for the following awards: 
•    FNG Starr Award
•    Medal of Honour
•    Medal of Service
•    May Cohen Award for Women Mentors
•    Sir Charles Tupper Award for Poli-tical Action 
•    Award for Excellence in Health Pro-motion 
•    Award for Young Leaders
•    Dr William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics
•    Physician Misericordia Award
•    John McCrae Memorial Medal

All award nominations must be received by the CMA by 30 November 2015. Self-nominations are ineligible.

For more information visit and

. Call for award nominations. BCMJ, Vol. 57, No. 9, November, 2015, Page(s) 400 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply