BC doctors awarded Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal

Issue: BCMJ, vol. 55, No. 1, January February 2013, Pages 13-14 News

Four BC physicians were named in December as recipients of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal following a call for nominations earlier last year by the Canadian Medical Association. Drs Granger Avery, Susan Burgess, Victor Huckell, and Mark Schonfeld were presented with the medal, which was created to recognize Canadians who have contributed to society through service and achievements. 

Each winner was honored for a variety of contributions to the medical profession and for their commitment to improving health care in BC. Dr Avery was recognized for his dedication to rural medicine, demonstrated through his service to patients in his long-standing solo practice in the community of Port McNeill, and the creation of eight outreach clinics in isolated communities.

Dr Burgess was honored for providing health care to residents in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside, and promoting the belief that all Canadians are equally deserving of the highest standard of care. 

Dr Hucknell is an internationally recognized, award-winning CME educator. He received his medal in recognition of his work toward developing new and innovative CME tools, and for enhancing quality of care through physician education. 

Dr Schonfeld was recognized for his tireless work in health advocacy and for his exceptional leadership during his career as CEO of the BCMA, which helped the association to become one of Canada’s leading professional organizations and achieve a high level of member satisfaction.

The medals were presented by BCMA president Dr Shelley Ross and CEO Mr Allan Seckel at a luncheon in December. Congratulations to Drs Avery, Burgess, Huckell, and Schonfeld on this well-deserved honor.

. BC doctors awarded Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal. BCMJ, Vol. 55, No. 1, January, February, 2013, Page(s) 13-14 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit www.icmje.org

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply