2020 Family Physicians’ Awards

Issue: BCMJ, vol. 62, No. 5, June 2020, Page 176 News

The BC College of Family Physicians’ (BCCFP) awards and honors program recognizes BC’s exceptional family physicians, residents, and medical students, and highlights the value of family medicine. Winners of the 2020 awards are listed below. For more information about the winners and the awards, visit https://bccfp.bc.ca/2020-award-recipients.

BC Family Physician of the Year Award

The BC Family Physician of the Year Award recognizes a family physician who provides exemplary care to patients and takes part in activities that contribute to excellence in family medicine.

Dr Tahmeena Ali

Family Medicine Advocate Award

The Family Medicine Advocate Award recognizes a BCCFP member who has demonstrated a strong commitment to advocating for the value of family medicine.

Dr Lawrence Yang

My Family Doctor Award

The My Family Doctor Award is the BCCFP’s patient-nominated award that honors the patient-doctor relationship. Nominations are accepted from patients or family members.

Dr Rachel Collins (Fraser Health)
Dr Kalen Geddes (Northern Health)
Dr Peter Lutsky (Vancouver Coastal Health)
Dr Patricia Olsen (Island Health)
Dr Mark Szynkaruk (Interior Health)

Dr Manoo and Jean Gurjar Award

Dr Jessica Briggs
Dr Anmol Lamba

First Five Years of Practice Award

The First Five Years of Practice Award recognizes an exceptional family physician in the early stage of their career.

Dr Alyssa Cantarutti

Resident Leadership Award

The BCCFP offers financial awards for residents in the UBC Family Practice Residency Program, including this leadership award.

Dr Rebekah Eatmon

. 2020 Family Physicians’ Awards. BCMJ, Vol. 62, No. 5, June, 2020, Page(s) 176 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit www.icmje.org

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply