2012 BCMA scholarship winners

Issue: BCMJ, vol. 54, No. 7, September 2012, Page 348 News
By: Tara Lyon

The BCMA has two annual scholarship award programs, the first offering one $1000 scholarship and the second offering three $500 scholarships.

The Cathy Isobe Scholarship was founded in memory of the BCMA’s longtime receptionist, who passed away from cancer in 2007. Cathy lov­ed highland dance, and BCMA staff members honor her memory by fundraising throughout the year to­ward a scholarship for a student en­rolled in highland dance who achieves academic excellence. The $1000 scho­larship is administered by Ms Isobe’s family, who decided to grant the award to two students this year after receiving a number of exceptional applications.

The BCMA Scholarship awards $500 scholarships to children of BCMA members who display outstanding scholastic achievement, re­markable volunteer contributions, and well-rounded extracurricular interests. Winners are selected by BCMA committee members through an anon­ymous process.

Cathy Isobe Scholarship: Caileigh Rendek and Leigh Borrett 
Ms Rendek, who lives in Creston, has competed in highland dance throughout North America, and will compete in Scotland this fall. She also teaches highland dance, plays violin, and is a member of numerous sports teams at her school. She has volunteered in a local kindergarten classroom and with the Creston Judo Club, and she organized her school’s Tanning Out campaign through the Canadian Cancer Society.
Ms Rendek will be attending McGill University to pursue a degree in commerce, and she hopes to attend Harvard Law School. 

Ms Borrett lives in Duncan and has been enrolled in highland dance since age 7. She has competed in BC, Ontario, and California, and teaches at the Celtic Rhythm Dancers studio. She has volunteered through coaching a variety of sports teams, started a KidSport group at her school, and has been a leader in various school clubs including Global Issues and Schools for Schools. Ms Borrett will be attending the University of Calgary, studying biomedical engineering.

Calleigh Rendek

BCMA Scholarship: Simon Roome
Mr Roome is a graduate of Oak Bay Secondary in Victoria. He plans to attend the University of Victoria in the fall to study biology and earn his bachelor’s degree. Mr Roome was an honours student with distinction in all four years of high school, and is the recipient of the UVic Excellence Scholarship. His athletic pursuits include track and field, basketball, and soccer; he has won many awards for his achievements in the arts, including the People’s Choice Award at the Oak Bay High School Film Festival, and Best Ever Oak Bay High School Film at G.I.F.T.S. EyeLens Film Festival. He also plays cello and bass guitar. 

BCMA Scholarship: Emma Mittermaier
Ms Mittermaier is a graduate of Southridge School in Surrey, and has been accepted to the McMaster University Arts and Science program, receiving a McMaster President’s Award and three McMaster Honour Awards. Ms Mittermaier’s other academic accomplishments include winning a Certificate of Academic Achievement in Health Career Education, and Certificates of Distinction in the Pascal Mathematics Contest and the Gauss Mathematics Contest. A competitive swimmer, Ms Mittermaier competed at the Olympic Swimming Trials in Montreal and set BC provincial records in the 50 m freestyle in 2009 and 2012. She has served as a member of student government and participated in many of her school’s theatre and concert productions. 

BCMA Scholarship: Jessica M. Wong
Ms Wong is another graduate of Oak Bay Secondary in Victoria, and plans to attend the University of British Co­lumbia in the fall. Ms Wong’s outstanding list of extracurricular and volunteer activities includes membership in the Rotary Interact Club, co-founding and spreading school awareness for Project Haiti, serving as a student council representative, teaching music to children with multiple disabilities, and building homes in Mexico with Hero Holiday. She has won several academic and fine arts awards.

Congratulations to all the winners!
—Tara Lyon

Tara Lyon. 2012 BCMA scholarship winners. BCMJ, Vol. 54, No. 7, September, 2012, Page(s) 348 - News.

Above is the information needed to cite this article in your paper or presentation. The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) recommends the following citation style, which is the now nearly universally accepted citation style for scientific papers:
Halpern SD, Ubel PA, Caplan AL, Marion DW, Palmer AM, Schiding JK, et al. Solid-organ transplantation in HIV-infected patients. N Engl J Med. 2002;347:284-7.

About the ICMJE and citation styles

The ICMJE is small group of editors of general medical journals who first met informally in Vancouver, British Columbia, in 1978 to establish guidelines for the format of manuscripts submitted to their journals. The group became known as the Vancouver Group. Its requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), were first published in 1979. The Vancouver Group expanded and evolved into the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE), which meets annually. The ICMJE created the Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals to help authors and editors create and distribute accurate, clear, easily accessible reports of biomedical studies.

An alternate version of ICMJE style is to additionally list the month an issue number, but since most journals use continuous pagination, the shorter form provides sufficient information to locate the reference. The NLM now lists all authors.

BCMJ standard citation style is a slight modification of the ICMJE/NLM style, as follows:

  • Only the first three authors are listed, followed by "et al."
  • There is no period after the journal name.
  • Page numbers are not abbreviated.

For more information on the ICMJE Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals, visit www.icmje.org

BCMJ Guidelines for Authors

Leave a Reply